D8 History: Governors

District Officers:

Western district: (appointed until April 1932)

1923: Chairman, Mary E. Janes, Toledo, OH, USA

1924: Chairman, Helen M. Schluraff, Erie, PA, USA

1925-26: Chairman, Clara Shaw Herrick, Los Angeles, CA, USA

District E:

1926: Chairman, Dr. Maude Parker, Seattle, WA, USA

1926-27: Chairman, Marjorie Cowan, Seattle, WA, USA

1927-28: Chairman, Mary Jane dent, Seattle, WA, USA

District VI:

1929-30: Chairman, Mary Jane Dent, Seattle, WA, USA

1931-32: Chairman, Marr Davenport, Spokane, WA, USA

1932-33: Chairman Edna Maybury, Olympia, WA, USA (elected April 1932)

1933-34: Officers Reelected.

1934-35: Chairman, Ora E. McIntyre, Salem, OR, USA

1935-36: Chairman, Doris Bell, Everett, WA, USA

1936-38 Chairman, Evalyn Burgan, Spokane, WA, USA

1938-39: Chairman  Ann Johnston, Seattle, WA, USA

1939-40: Chairman, Genevieve Turnipseed, Eugene, OR, USA

1940-41: Chairman Dulcina Brown, Portland, OR, USA (later conference minutes list her with last name of Elliott as past governor along with Virginia Fiscus; there is a Virginia Coleman listed as governor from 1966-68; the conference doesn’t give information as to their term or club))

1941-42: Chairman Anna E. Langlow, Tacoma, WA, USA

1942-44: Chairman Marie Fitzgerald, Spokane, WA, USA

1944-46: Chairman Helen N. Yockey, Salem, OR, USA

1946-47: Chairman Lydia Derrick, Olympia, WA, USA

1947-48: Chairman Hazel M. Cook, Portland, OR, USA


District VIII 1948-Present

1948-50: Chairman Delia Stephenson, Everett, WA, USA (elected fall Conference, Spokane)

1950-52: Governor Genevieve Morgan, Salem, OR, USA (1sttime for governor title instead of chairman)

1952-54: Susan Wilcox Burdette, Seattle, WA, USA

1954-56: Ellen Harris, Vancouver BC, Canada

1956-58: Gladys S. Puckett ?

1958-60: Elma I. Gockley, Boise, ID

1960-62: Clara Nasholm, Eugene, OR, USA

1962-64: Jessie L.P. Church, Calgary, Alberta, Canada

1964-66: Geraldine Ellis, Coos Bay Area, OR, USA

1966-68: Virginia Coleman, Seattle, WA, USA

1968-70: Molly O. Clasbey, Helena, MT, USA

1970-72: Ruth Watters, Eugene, OR, USA

1972-74: Emily M. Ehlinger, Spokane, WA, USA

1974-76: Jean Fish, Medford, OR, USA

1976-78: Muriel Cowen, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

1978-80: Jean King, Portland, OR, USA

1980-82: Joyce Brurud, Great Falls, MT, USA

1982-84: June B. Anderson, Walla Walla, WA, USA

1984-86: Marian Showers, Portland, OR, USA

1986-88: Frances (Fran) Soule, Spokane, WA, USA

1988-90: Norma Jean Housley, Idaho Falls, ID, USA

1990-92: Helen Saar, Roseburg, OR, USA

1992-94: Paula M. Bechtold, Coos Bay, OR, USA

1994-96: Leta Best, Victoria, BC, Canada

1996-98: Phyllis J. Fread, Roseburg, OR, USA

1998-00: Joan E. Knapp, Olympia, WA, USA (Zonta Club of South Puget Sound)

2000-02: Bridget Baker, Eugene, OR, USA

2002-04: Deborah (Debbie) H. Arney, Olympia, WA, USA (Zonta Club of South Puget Sound)

2004-06: Roz Mellander, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

2006-08: Cindy L. Phillips, Everett, WA, USA

2008-10: Terri Turi, North Bend, OR, USA (Zonta Club of Coos Bay Area)

2010-12: Carol Dreysse, Everett, WA, USA

2012-14: Shelli Cutting, Anchorage, AK, USA

2014-16: Genelle Hanken, Coos Bay, OR, USA

2016-18: Leatta Dahlhoff, Olympia, WA, USA  (Zonta Club of Olympia)

2018-2020: Jeanie Martin, Grants Pass, OR, USA

2020-2022: Maggie Calica, Anchorage, AK USA